Gear Pt. II: Thoughts on my hardware.

I have recently split this post up into individual items and elaborated on some of the content. Where I have done so, please see the current version at the links provided.

Sleeping:

Tent – Alpkit Kangri

Sleeping Bag – Mountain Equipment Snowline -17C

Sleeping Mat & pillow – Exped DownMat UL 7 & Klymit Cush

Luggage:

Expedition – Lowe Alpine TFX Appalachian 75-95L XL

Daypack – Haglöfs Matrix 40

Camera bag – Think Tank Digital Holster 20 V2.0

Cooking:

Stove & Cookware – Primus Gravity II EF & Primus LiTech Trek Kettle

12 responses

  1. Pingback: Gear Pt. I: Thoughts on my technical attire | Altitudinal Aspirations & Assorted Ramblings

  2. We had first the Haglofs Oxo 60 these were much wider. The Haglofs Matrix 60 is especially longer but narrower. We are very pleased with the bags. We find it easier to pack a longer backpack then a wider…

    11/12/2013 at 18:11

    • Yeah, the balance is much better I find. Interesting. Though I expect most ‘expedition’ style packs are quite wide. I’m actually looking to replace mine, a Lowe Alpine.

      11/12/2013 at 18:20

      • Before the Haglofs Oxos we had both a Lowe Alpine but we didn’t like the support of the frame. They where to wide for us.

        11/12/2013 at 18:26

      • Yeah. I’m quite skinny so mine persistently slides down when heavily packed. Not ideal really!

        11/12/2013 at 18:35

  3. The Haglofs Matrix line is great eh! We have the 60L version for our longer backpacking trips.

    11/12/2013 at 15:24

    • Oh yeah, it’s a real nice pack! I’m glad I got one before they changed the design!

      11/12/2013 at 15:26

      • Oh i have a new one and i love it! My girlfriend has the old version…

        11/12/2013 at 15:43

      • Ah, now that I’ve double checked, the 60L looks fine actually, it’s the 40L version that has lost the top lid, a crazy decision if you ask me! I loved that lid!

        11/12/2013 at 15:53

      • Ah okay we only have the 60L versions 😀

        11/12/2013 at 16:29

      • How big do you think they actually are? I only ask as the 40L is easily as big, or maybe even bigger, than some 60L packs that I’ve seen.

        11/12/2013 at 17:59

  4. Pingback: A Weekend Away; Dent to Ingleton via Whernside, Chapel-le-Dale & Ingleborough. | Altitudinal Aspirations & Assorted Ramblings

Leave a Reply

